/****** Font Awesome ******/ /****** Collapsing Nested Menu Items | Code by Elegant Themes ******/

NCLII-2 RECEIVES FUNDING FOR NEW 5-YEAR TRAINING GRANT

The National Center for Leadership in Intensive Intervention has recently received funding for a 5-year training grant for a new cohort of doctoral students. The new 5-year grant- known as NCLII-2 – will fund a new cohort of 28 doctoral students from a consortium of seven universities: Vanderbilt University, University of Connecticut, University of Illinois at Chicago, University of Minnesota, University of Texas at Austin, University of Georgia and Michigan State University.

The mission of the project is to produce a cohort of scholars capable of preparing generations of special education personnel to meet the needs of students with comorbid and complex learning and behavior difficulties (CLBD), and to conduct the highest level of research on this topic.

The project offers unique opportunities to participate in cross-institutional, collaborative research activities with faculty and fellow scholars. In addition, NCLII-2 will host summer workshops to provide additional, focused training in key topics related to leadership development in intensive intervention. The consortium also provides interested scholars with connections to internships with national centers supported by the U.S. Department of Education’s Office of Special Education Programs, including the National Center on Intensive Intervention; Collaboration for Effective Educator Development, Accountability and Reform; and the IRIS Center at Vanderbilt University.

The partner universities have begun recruitment efforts for the first group of scholars to begin in the fall of 2020. A second group of scholars will be admitted for the fall of 2021. For more information on applying, please reach out to the contacts below at the NCLII-2 partner university that you are interested in attending.

 

Peabody College at Vanderbilt University: Dr. Joseph Wehby (joseph.wehby@vanderbilt.edu); Dr. Marcia Barnes (marcia.barnes@vanderbilt.edu)
University of Connecticut: Dr. Mike Coyne (mike.coyne@uconn.edu); Dr. Devin Kearns (devin.kearns@uconn.edu)
University of Illinois at Chicago: Dr. Dan Maggin (dmaggin@uic.edu)
University of Georgia: Dr. Kristin Sayeski (ksayeski@uga.edu)
Michigan State University: Dr. Eunsoo Cho (escho@msu.edu)
University of Minnesota: Dr. Frank Symons (symon007@umn.edu)
University of Texas at Austin: Dr. Sharon Vaughn (srvaughn@austin.utexas.edu); Dr. Sarah Powell (srpowell@austin.utexas.edu)